Five Minutes With…Adam Rothwell

Adam RothwellName, role and department:
Adam Rothwell, Residential Life Coordinator, Accommodation

How long have you been at Manchester Met:
I have worked at Manchester Met for a year and four months, and have been in my current role since January 2016.

Favourite thing about the University:
The atmosphere; it feels great to come to work and see friendly faces and be made to feel welcome in your workplace. There is a positive vibe to the university and this is reflected through both the staff and students.

A typical working day:
There isn’t a typical day as such, but a day can involve – speaking with students about a variety of welfare issues, the supervision of Residential Advisors, meeting with community partners such as Greater Manchester Police and sitting on disciplinary panels. That is what I love about the job – you never know what the day will bring!

What is your ideal weekend:
Meeting up with friends and going for some food and drinks… nothing too crazy.

Interesting fact about you:
I taught myself to play the piano aged 10.

What are you reading, watching or listening to at the moment:
I’m not a reader at all but I recently binged on Happy Valley then when I had finished that, I caught up on Scott and Bailey (also written by Sally Wainwright) just in time for the new season to start.

Favourite place in the region:
I have never been much of a lover of the countryside so my favourite place would be Didsbury because it is a lovely place to go for lunch in the sun and a cocktail (or ten). It has a lovely feel to it and is always great for people watching.

Person you would most like to meet- past or present:
The Dragons from Dragons Den. It would be such an interesting meeting – five influential and successful people.

What items would you take on a desert island and why:
A mirror, to reflect the light, signal for help, and get me off the island as quick as possible… I don’t do heat and no one to talk to/at… Sounds like my worst nightmare.


The ManMetLife team are always looking for University staff to take part in ‘Five Minutes With…’. To get involved or to nominate other members of staff for the feature, email us on manmetlife@mmu.ac.uk

 

 

 

