Five Minutes With…Dr Lisa Oakley

MMUName, role and department:
Dr Lisa Oakley, Programme Leader Abuse Studies, Interdisciplinary Studies.

How long have you been at Manchester Met:
25 years!!!

Favourite thing about the University:
I think my favourite thing is the people I work with. I am fortunate enough to work with people who are friends as well as colleagues. This has meant lots of mutual support over the years and lots of creative thinking in terms of research and teaching. Of course, I also really enjoy teaching students and enjoy watching their careers develop after they leave the course. Many are in careers where they are at the cutting edge of policy and practice development.

A typical working day:
There is no typical working day really. I may be teaching, researching, doing admin! Or away from the Faculty speaking or at meetings around my research area. I think the variety in the job is challenging but you are never bored.

What is your ideal weekend:
Being away by the seaside with family and friends with a good book and no internet.

Interesting fact about you:
I have two children born on the same day three years apart, same gender, same birth weight and same hospital room – made for an expensive 18th and 21st on the same day.

What are you reading, watching or listening to at the moment:
Reading Betrayed by Richard Scorer about the sexual abuse scandal with catholic priests and watching Gotham.

Favourite place in the region:
Brereton Lake – many happy times here with my own kids and the young people from the youth group I used to run.

Person you would most like to meet- past or present:
William Wilberforce – I would like to know what his journey was really like and how it felt to be continually knocked back while fighting to abolish slavery.

What items would you take on a desert island and why:
A journal and pen – because I enjoy writing and keep a journal each day, my kindle with many books (assuming that this island has a plug socket) because I love reading, my bible because my faith matters to me, a piano to play music on as I enjoy playing but don’t often get much time, my family as they are very important to me and chocolate – this needs no explanation.


The ManMetLife team are always looking for University staff to take part in ‘Five Minutes With…’. To get involved or to nominate other members of staff for the feature, email us on manmetlife@mmu.ac.uk

 

 

