LGBT Role Model: Sarah Brown

LGBT Role Model: Sarah Brown, Pensions and Reward Adviser

As a bisexual person, I find that people make a lot of assumptions about me: when I am with my male partner people assume I am straight, and when I have been with women people assume I am a lesbian. I also had people assume I am greedy, indecisive, a cheat, obsessed with sex and that it’s “just a phase”.

Manchester Met has been a positive place to be out as a bisexual, no one has made a fuss about it and it’s been no different to telling my colleagues that I like both biscuits and cake! Manchester is a great place to be a bisexual, there are support groups and socials where you can meet and chat with other bisexuals such as Biphoria (the UK’s longest running Bi group) and monthly Bi Socials.

If someone was facing difficulties as a result of their sexual orientation or gender identity, I would advise them to talk to someone, often a problem shared is a problem halved. Organisations like the LGBT Foundation or Biphoria can help with issues or at least point you in the right direction.

Sarah Brown.jpg