Manchester Met’s Holly Bradshaw at Rio 2016

Sainsbury's British Athletics Indoor Championships - Day One

Last week, the British record holder and seven-time British champion for the women’s pole vault, Holly Bradshaw, represented Team GB at Rio.

Finishing fifth in the women’s pole vault final, Holly said on Twitter: “I am truly grateful, honoured and unbelievably happy with my performance. The true competitor in me feels gutted that I came within touching distance of a medal but it was not to be.”

Holly is studying on the long-distance learning BSc in Sport and Exercise Science course to enable her to train in Cardiff. She said: “Manchester Met was brilliant when I chose to move to Cardiff to be with my new coach. I love the distance learning – it means I can still get my degree whilst training full time.

“The Olympic Games is such a special event that I have dreamt about since I was a youngster so I am so appreciative to have the chance to go to my second.”