Five Minutes With…Karli Callaghan

After a summer hiatus, one of our most popular and most read features is back!

The anticipated ‘Five Minutes with…’  returns with Placements Administrator, Karli Callaghan.

As always, the ManMetLife team are looking for University staff to take part in the Q&A. To get involved or to nominate other members of staff for the feature, email us on manmetlife@mmu.ac.uk


karliName, role and department:
Karli Callaghan, Placements Administrator.

How long have you been at Manchester Met:
Just over one year, I started out at All Saints Student Living last July (big love to the All Saints Crew) and moved onto my current role in January of this year. I’ve met some great people here in that time from both positions.

Favourite thing about the University:
I like that it has a lot of different events going on, and has a community feel. I appreciate that we are encouraged to participate in these events, and that they are advertised well to staff. I am also very happy with the training on offer here and that again, we are encouraged to develop ourselves, network, and attend these sessions.

A typical working day:

  • Check emails and deal with anything that is a priority.
  • Send out Health and Safety paperwork to students and employers.
  • Liaise with academics and employers to facilitate interviews and employer events, and advertise these.
  • Social Media management across Twitter and Facebook, to develop the Placement team presence across these sites.
  • Some coffee in-between.

What is your ideal weekend:

If I was at home in Manchester…

Friday night would be either drinks or dinner out with friends, which could (hopefully) turn into a late one.

Saturday I’d go for a swim or do a gym class in the morning, and providing the weather is nice a BBQ with friends is always good. Failing that, I’d enjoy cooking, making some cocktails and listening to music (possibly the Craig Charles Funk and Soul Show on Radio 6) or going out to a gig.

Sunday would be a long walk somewhere scenic and a roast dinner.

Interesting fact about you:

I put far too much effort into learning rap songs, and I am still awful at it.

What are you reading, watching or listening to at the moment:

I’m reading ‘The Girl on the Train’ in preparation for the film coming out in October, I should have read it before now really. I’ve also just bought ‘Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance’ to read which has been recommended to me from a friend.

I’m watching a lot less at the moment as I’ve been pretty busy, I’m always hearing of films and TV shows to watch via my team (who, by the way have a very good variety of recommendations to suggest). I’d like to get into a good thriller series.

Most recently, some films that I’ve really enjoyed include ‘Me, Earl and the Dying Girl’, ‘Infinitely Polar Bear’ and ‘The Lobster’.

I’m listening to a range of things (seriously got into disco music over the past year). Right now, I am mixing between artists like; Chance the Rapper, Air, Father John Misty, and The Allergies. I like a fair mix of music and will give anything a listen.

My guilty pleasure is probably Wham!

Favourite place in the region:

I like Buxton and the Peak District in general; I’d like to get out there more as I enjoy walking.

Dunham Massey near Altrincham is also lovely.

For eating out, I like Didsbury and Chorlton.

There’s a few there really!

Person you would most like to meet- past or present, real or fictional:

The Artist formally known as Prince.

What items would you take on a desert island and why:

I’d take a guitar as I’ve always wanted to learn how to play and would dedicate some real time to it, then when I got off the island I might be able to become a rockstar.

Some factor 50 sunscreen as I’m fair I would burn in 5 minutes and would resemble a lobster (I’d fit right in).

A diary and ink quill so I could do some sort of ramblings and document how mad I was going like Leonardo DiCaprio in ‘The Beach’.