Five Minutes With…Megan Whitehead

This week’s ‘Five Minutes with…’  features Megan Whitehead, Marketing Assistant, Manchester Fashion Institute

As always, the ManMetLife team is looking for University staff to take part in the Q&A. To get involved or to nominate other members of staff for the feature, email us on manmetlife@mmu.ac.uk


Name, role and department:

Megan Whitehead, Marketing Assistant, Manchester Fashion Institutemegan

How long have you been at Manchester Met:

Since April this year, so around six months – although it feels a lot longer! (In a good way!)

Favourite thing about the University:

When I came to Manchester Metropolitan for my job interview, the first thing I noticed was the buzz from students and staff. The atmosphere at the University is so exciting, with so many people preparing and progressing towards their goals and ambitions.

A typical working day:

A typical working day for me can vary depending on the deadlines I have to meet on that day or week. One day I can be helping out with an event, another day could be spent proof reading brochures, then other days can involve writing promotional text, or working with suppliers and designers to create merchandise. I work with a range of people, from current and perspective students, to both academic and professional services staff. My job is a great way to get to know people from all walks of university life.

What is your ideal weekend:

My ideal weekend is spending it with my family and my boyfriend. Our lives are all so busy and I live quite far away from my boyfriend, so weekends are incredibly valuable to me. Catching up with everyone over food and drinks is my ideal way to spend the weekend. I find that there’s really nothing better than good food and good company to ground me again.

Interesting fact about you:

I once saved someone from drowning, which is kind of ironic because I can’t swim myself.

What are you reading, watching or listening to at the moment:

At the moment I am reading Kafka on the Shore by Haruki Murakami as part of the University Book Club (shout out to my fellow bookworms!). I’ve only just started so I can’t give too much away.

I recently just finished Stranger Things on Netflix, which I finished accidently after just two sittings – if you’re a fan of ET and Stand By Me, definitely give it a watch. I’m now on to Bates Motel.

I don’t really restrict myself to one type of music, so my Spotify is a lovely collective, slightly random mix of tunes. I’m always singing to myself (although I’m a terrible singer) or listening to music.

Favourite place in the region:

One of my favourite places in the North West is Aira Force waterfall in the Lake District. We stumbled across it on a camping holiday on a really hot, sunny day. So my family and I climbed to the top, then on the way back down we couldn’t resist jumping into a secluded pool to cool off. It was the best day.

Person you would most like to meet- past or present, real or fictional:

I would really like to have a chat with my Nan, who died when I was 16. I obviously knew her really well, but I would have liked the opportunity to get to know her now that I’m a bit older. I would like to get to know her as she was when she was young.

What items would you take on a desert island and why:

I loved watching Swiss Family Robinson with my dad when I was little. So I would want to take a ship like theirs and set myself up on the island like they did (minus the ship wreck part!), with an amazing tree house and a pet monkey.