Five Minutes With…Annie Griffin

annie-griffinName, role and department:
Annie Griffin, Student Recruitment Assistant (Events), Recruitment and Admissions.

How long have you been at Manchester Met:
A little over a year. I started my time here working within the All Saints Student Living team (best banter of any team in the University – fact). I then went to work in Course Enquiries (absolute front line of the University and another awesome team to work with) and I now work in the Events team – I’m quite new, but everyone is great and I’m loving it.

Favourite thing about the University:
I think this has been said a million times before, but the sense of community is great and there’s so many opportunities to grow and develop yourself, which I think is really important. Man Met life (particularly the 5 minutes with feature) is also a personal highlight, as are the free snacks that are often left in the BS 2.01 staff kitchen!

A typical working day:
It depends what event we have coming up as I support with the organisation of the many recruitment events the University hosts such as Open Days, Visit Days, Postgraduate Course Fairs…..
I also sometimes support with outreach events and so I can occasionally be out of the office at UCAS fairs or Postgraduate events in other cities.

What is your ideal weekend:
My ideal weekend would be basking in the sun somewhere exotic with a cocktail in hand. However I’m not that lucky, so a typical weekend normally involves various activities, most of them including gin and/or wine.

Interesting fact about you:
I have sixteen tattoos including a portrait of Aslan the lion on my thigh and a peacock on my back. I have around 55 hours total under the needle. I also used to write for the tattoo industry magazine ‘Nine Mag’ as well as run a tattoo shop in Cheltenham. Coming to work in a university was a huge culture shock after that!

What are you reading, watching or listening to at the moment:
I’ve just finished reading Girl on the Train which to be honest I found really anti climatic! I’m watching the new Season 7 of Walking Dead, Glenn’s eyeball is still haunting me (sorry if that’s a spoiler for anyone!) I’m listening to my ever growing Spotify playlist, which is a random mix but has some absolute corkers on it.

Favourite place in the region:
I’m originally from Lytham St Annes near Blackpool which is my favourite place because I love being by the sea.

Person you would most like to meet- past or present:
Emma Watson because I think she’s a real inspiration to young women and Peter Kay because he is the epitome of Northern humour and would have me in stitches.

What items would you take on a desert island and why:
Copious amounts of snacks.


‘Five Minutes With…’ is one of our most popular and most read features. The short Q&A is a way for colleagues all around the University to get to know members of staff in different teams, departments and faculties.

The ManMetLife team are always looking for University staff to take part in ‘Five Minutes With…’ and getting involved is simple. All you have to do is:

  1. Download the ‘Five Minutes With’ template.
  2. Fill it in.
  3. Send it over to manmetlife@mmu.ac.uk with a photo of yourself.

If you want to nominate a colleague for the feature, just let us know who.

Read of some of our previous ‘Five Minutes With…’ Q&As here: https://manmetlife.wordpress.com/?s=five+minutes+with

