Five Minutes With…Michala Hulme

fullsizerenderName, role and department:
Michala Hulme, Editor of Manchester Regional History Review,  History Department.

How long have you been at Manchester Met:
I began as an undergraduate in 2009 and graduated in 2012. In 2013, I started a PhD and have been here ever since.

Favourite thing about the University:
The people!

A typical working day:
Check my emails and the MCRH social media accounts. After that is finished, I begin working on the next edition of the Manchester Regional History Review.

What is your ideal weekend:
Walking my dog Alfred or riding my horse Elvis.

Interesting fact about you:
I collect coins, old postcards, 19th century magazines and Manchester ephemera

What are you reading, watching or listening to at the moment:
Watching: Poldark – boxset.
Reading: The last edition of the MCRH Review.
Listening: BBC Radio Manchester.

Favourite place in the region:
Manchester! No explanation needed  

Person you would most like to meet- past or present, real or fictional:
Mr Darcy because I am convinced that we are destined to marry

 What items would you take on a desert island and why:
Food and water so I could survive. My luxury items would be a Wi-Fi signal and my ipad so I could communicate to the outside world and my collection of ‘old things’ – coins, war medals, postcards, Victorian magazines etc…


‘Five Minutes With…’ is one of our most popular and most read features. The short Q&A is a way for colleagues all around the University to get to know members of staff in different teams, departments and faculties.

The ManMetLife team are always looking for University staff to take part in ‘Five Minutes With…’ and getting involved is simple. All you have to do is:

  1. Download the ‘Five Minutes With’ template.
  2. Fill it in.
  3. Send it over to manmetlife@mmu.ac.uk with a photo of yourself.

If you want to nominate a colleague for the feature, just let us know who.

Read of some of our previous ‘Five Minutes With…’ Q&As here: https://manmetlife.wordpress.com/?s=five+minutes+with

 

