Five Minutes With…Alyson Gates

5mins.jpgName, role and department:
Alyson Gates – FSAS Learning & Teaching Group Manager Science & Engineering

How long have you been at Manchester Met:
9 years

Favourite thing about the University:
The buildings, some of them are incredibly beautiful and many have interesting histories. I am particularly fond of the Grosvenor building and the Holden Gallery.

A typical working day:
I look after a dedicated team of administrators who support students and academic staff with the processes and events that require actioning throughout the academic year. This means a typical day can contain anything from implementing new procedures or regulations, developing and promoting particular initiatives, resolving staffing issues, dealing with student complaints or academic misconduct to ensuring Enrolment or Assessment Boards are successfully undertaken without incident.   

What is your ideal weekend:
Saturday: Football at Old Trafford followed by a few real ales and a cracking live gig in town.
Sunday: Slobbing on the sofa with an endless supply of tea, toast and TV

Interesting fact about you:
I once had a charcoal drawing exhibited in the National Portrait Gallery.

What are you reading, watching or listening to at the moment:
Reading: I am Zlatan Ibrahimovic (my new hero!)
Watching: The ski-jumping world cup, the new Hawaii 5-O and Harry Hill’s Teatime.
Listening to: The Membranes’ Dark Matter/Dark Energy, Evil Blizzard’s Welcome to the Church (both amazing local bands) and Nerissimo by Blixa Bargeld and Teho Teardo

Favourite place in the region:
Salford, it has a poor reputation, but it is where I live, the community spirit is fabulous and parts of it absolutely rock!

Person you would most like to meet- past or present, real or fictional:
Real: Eric Cantona. Fictional: Rust Cohle

What items would you take on a desert island and why:
Vanity Fair by William Thackeray – as I would finally have time to read it without interruption. I must have started it a dozen times and not yet got a third of the way through.
Bad Wisdom by Bill Drummond and Mark Manning – one of my favourite books that never fails to cheer me up.
My MP3 player to listen to my awesome music collection.
A fishing net, a large bottle of vinegar and a huge bag of rice so I could make my own nigiri sushi.
Pogo my cat – entertaining company and the apple of my eye.


‘Five Minutes With…’ is one of our most popular and most read features. The short Q&A is a way for colleagues all around the University to get to know members of staff in different teams, departments and faculties.

The ManMetLife team are always looking for University staff to take part in ‘Five Minutes With…’ and getting involved is simple. All you have to do is:

  1. Download the ‘Five Minutes With’ template.
  2. Fill it in.
  3. Send it over to manmetlife@mmu.ac.uk with a photo of yourself.

If you want to nominate a colleague for the feature, just let us know who.

Read of some of our previous ‘Five Minutes With…’ Q&As here: https://manmetlife.wordpress.com/?s=five+minutes+with