Five Minutes With…Emma Stothard

14433051_782614565211559_8220473377678607309_nName, role and department:
Emma Stothard, Communications & Engagement Officer within the Comms & Engagement Team in MCD

 How long have you been at Manchester Met:
Since September 2016, although I used to work for the University in 2013/2014, working in the Conference and Events team for 18 months. I missed working at Manchester Met so much, I came back two years after leaving!

Favourite thing about the University:
There’s so much I like about working here. I think one of the main things is the friendliness of colleagues around the University. I feel that many people you meet here are all really passionate about what they do and enjoy being in a job that has the positive impact of helping people in their education and making sure students enjoy their life here at Manchester Met. It’s just a really lovely vibe across the campus!

A typical working day:
My days are really varied. I work closely with the Student Comms Officer, Amy, and between us we look after a lot of the comms across the University social media channels so we’re often planning and idea generating for content and imagery – you might even spot us doing Boomerangs for Instagram in All Saints Park if you’re lucky! I’m working closely with MMU Sport and other colleagues in MCD at the moment on the Great Manchester Run campaign for the University, as well as working with the Students’ Union on some of their upcoming campaigns and projects. I’ve also been working with colleagues at the Cheshire Campus over recent months on email communications and also on the staff and student webpages.

What is your ideal weekend:
I wouldn’t say I have an ideal weekend really, I enjoy all sorts of things! I enjoy whenever possible being able to head to a football match (big Sunderland fan for anyone who’s interested, poor me!) I took part in the Yorkshire Three Peaks challenge last year and it’s spurred me on to do a bit more walking so that’s on my to-do list for this year; exploring some new places and being outside a bit more. I live in Whitefield and there’s quite a lot of new restaurants and bars opening around the area and in nearby Prestwich too so it’s always nice to venture out for some food and gin and see friends.

Interesting fact about you:
I was invited for an interview for The Apprentice in 2010 after applying, but decided to give it a miss as it was the same day I was due to start my University placement year! It was the year that Tom and his ‘Stylfile’ nail filer won.

What are you reading, watching or listening to at the moment:
I really enjoy a bit of binge-watching on Netflix, and currently I’m in to Season 2 of Narcos and Season 5 of American Horror Story. I’ve just finished watching the Night Manager after hearing so much about it and missing it last year on TV. I’m not much of a reader apart from on holiday, and in terms of music I listen to a mixed bag on my Spotify playlist featuring electronic 80s, Maroon 5, Reverend and the Makers and some dancey stuff – I said it was mixed!

Favourite place in the region:
I’m originally from the North East and after working in Leeds for a year after graduating, I moved to Manchester four years ago for my role in the Manchester Met Conference and Events team so I still feel like I’ve lots of places to still discover here yet. Some places I’ve particularly enjoyed include Altrincham Market on a Sunday; visiting the various stalls and sampling lots of food, and also visiting Chester (and the Zoo!).

Person you would most like to meet- past or present, real or fictional:
I’m going to say Robin Williams. Two of my favourite films growing up were Mrs Doubtfire and Jumanji, and more recently I really enjoyed the night at the Museum films too which feature him. He’s played so many different characters over the years and I think he would have been a brilliant person to meet and make me chuckle.

What items would you take on a desert island and why:
Scrabble, to keep me entertained – who doesn’t love Scrabble?! I’m going to also say a pair of slippers, for a bit of comfort! Then finally, I’d take some photos of family and friends too so I could see their lovely faces still!


Get in touch with the ManMetLife team on manmetlife@mmu.ac.uk to take part.