Improving the quality of the service we provide: Student Journey Transformation Programme

The Student Journey Transformation Programme is a large-scale business change initiative to improve the quality of service we provide to students. It will enhance every aspect of our administrative processes and systems and will provide a more efficient, responsive system to support the student journey, from initial enquiry to becoming a member of our alumni community.

The Programme is sponsored by the Registrar, Professor Karen Moore and a dedicated team is now in place to lead the initial phases. Andrew Kemp joined the University in October as Programme Director, Neil Wimbush as Programme Manager and Vincent Fitzpatrick will lead Business Change. A Solutions Director is due to start in early March. Approximately 30 experts from Student and Academic Services, Information Systems and Digital Services, and Finance and Legal Services have been seconded to the Programme for the first two phases, which will run until May 2017.

The focus of the team in the initial phases will be to gather information on current systems and look at every administrative process that affects students in their life at Manchester Met. Working with staff from across the University, they will then establish the potential requirements of a new system to ensure it meets the needs of students and enables staff to carry out their job effectively.


Student and Academic Input

Colleagues from the Centre for Excellence in Learning and Teaching are already providing an academic perspective in this early phase. The Programme Team also plan to consult more widely throughout the University. In addition, representatives from The Union sit on the Programme Board and current students will be recruited into the Programme to give their perspective.


Key Dates

An outline business case for investment will be produced by the end of March/early April 2017 and it is anticipated that the Programme will be delivered over a 2-3 year timescale. Further details will be provided in due course.


The Programme Board

The Programme Board has been set-up and current members include Karen Moore (Registrar), Helen Laville (Pro-Vice Chancellor for Education), Alexander Thorley (Deputy Registrar and Academic Secretary), Mike Gibbons (Director of External Relations and Deputy Registrar), John Cunningham (Director of Finance), Julie Griggs (Head of Talent and Resourcing), Kurt Weideling (Director of Information Systems and Digital Services), Matt Robinson, (Chief Executive of The Union), Pauline Ford (Director of Faculty SAS), David Worrall (Deputy Director of Legal Services), Andrew Kemp (Director of Student Journey Transformation Programme), Vincent Fitzpatrick (Business Change) and Neil Wimbush (Programme Transformation Manager).

The board meets every month to provide governance to the programme.



Further updates will be provided as the Programme progresses and a dedicated microsite will be developed to provide further information for staff. In the meantime, if you have any questions, please contact Vincent Fitzpatrick at

The Programme Team is based on the ground floor of 3 Piccadilly Place, opposite Piccadilly Train Station.