10k Tales: David Robinson, Mail Messenger, Cavendish North

David Robinson, Mail Messenger, Cavendish North

I love running. I’ve taken part in marathons, half-marathons and 10ks. I’ve always Facilities staff at work in Birley Fieldsenjoyed keeping fit and I like boxing and swimming too.

My main inspiration is Anthony Ivory who works in Brooks. He is 59 and has completed 45 marathons, usually coming in with times like 3 hours 10 minutes. I’ve known him for years and remember seeing him run. I’m more of a long distance runner really, it’s the stamina you need. It really fascinates me how people can keep running over distances like 26 miles and in 2009 I decided to have a go.

Anthony is a lot faster than me, but his motivation really spurred me on. He’s doing the 10k too and will be running with his son.

The main reason why I signed up for the 10K is because I need to get back into running. I had an injury and problems with my knees and feet after completing the Keswick half marathon in 2015. 10K is just the right length to ease me into things so I can get back on track.

I would say to anyway thinking of doing their first 10K, just enjoy it. Participating is what it’s all about. Come along and soak up the atmosphere. In terms of getting through it, slow but sure is my best advice. At the end as well, it’s a real achievement.

To join David and Anthony in walking, jogging or running the 10k visit www.mmu.ac.uk/10k

 

  • On Monday 27th February, we’re encouraging staff and students to join us in the Business School and show their support for Team #McrMetProud ahead of this year’s Great Manchester Run. If you’re available at 1pm, head to the Business School to be part of our group photo which we will be sharing across our channels to promote the run and the team spirit at Manchester Metropolitan University. There’s still time to sign up and be part of the team mmu.ac.uk/mcrmetrun and if you want to find out more about running on behalf of the University’s First Generation campaign, we have information here http://www2.mmu.ac.uk/giving/donate/fundraise-for-man-met/