10k Tales: Vicky Martin, Senior Lecturer in Law

Vicky Martin, Senior Lecturer in Law

I got into running only after deciding to give up smoking about 12 years ago. To start with it was just to try and get fit and I only ever ran on the treadmill at the gym.

ip-10k-tales-vicky-martin-case-study-copyBut my Mum still runs (she is 70 this year!) and was a very keen runner then so despite my sister and I always swearing we would never do any road running we are both signed up to the marathon this year.I had jogged a couple of races (Race For Life) and really enjoyed the team spirit of those races so decided I wanted to do the Manchester 10k about two years ago but my sister signed us both up for the Chester Half Marathon instead!

I had never run more than 5k before that and despite being injured that year as well I managed to do the training and finish in a reasonable time.

I did say I wouldn’t do it again but bettered my time last year and have now signed up for a charity place at the London Marathon this year.

I did my first Manchester 10k last year with colleagues from Manchester Met as well as meeting lots of people before, during and after that I hadn’t seen for ages who were also running. It is a great race with a great atmosphere and other people really do help you get round.

I struggle now if I can’t run as running gives me “me time” and time away from the ordinary stresses of work and family life.

It is actually easier than you think to find 30 minutes to get some running in and even if you have never run before it doesn’t take long to progress to a point where you actually aren’t counting the lamp posts until you can stop!

I am currently injured so I’m hoping to defer my London Marathon place until next year and hope the 2017 10k will be my comeback from injury if I’m lucky!

I am raising money for MACS – Microphthalmia, Anophthalmia and Coloboma Support, a charity that provides support for children (and their families) who are born without eyes or who suffer from other congenital sight defects. I would be really grateful if you would consider sponsoring me the price of a cup of coffee; my fundraising page is http://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/VickyMartin2

mcrmetproud-pic2