10k tales: Anthony Ivory, Domestic Assistant

10k tales, Anthony Ivory, Domestic Assistant

MA AnthonyIvory.jpg

“For 30 years, I would get up at 5.30am and run from Manchester to Altrincham. That’s where David Robinson used to see me running and how I got him motivated to take it up. Now, because I start work early, I can’t do that so I run around 10 or 11 miles every Wednesday, Friday and Sunday.

I enjoy it. It makes me feel great. I’ve stopped doing marathons now since I completed my 45th. My son has taken over from me and he is doing marathons now. He’s not faster than me yet!

I started running when I was 14. It was my Dad who motivated me; he used to run for Ireland. I had asthma back then and it was very hard to breathe, but the running helped get rid of it. I’m not a great fan of taking medicine, and running seemed to clear it all up. I also play squash and football but running is my real motivator.

No run is easy. You have to tell yourself it is. It stimulates your mind, makes you feel better at work, fresher, it does you good. It even makes you communicate better. Doing a 10K is a good distance for a beginner, but please do train. It’s also very important to warm up and do stretches both before and after a run for at least five minutes. I signed up because I’m doing it for Manchester Met, to be part of the team and to get together. I think I’ll be faster than David.

I’ve never had an injury because I make sure I warm up and warm down properly, but I have hit the wall during marathons. It happened when I got to 23 miles. Those last three miles felt like 20. But it’s all about mind set. You have to tell yourself to keep going. I sometimes say things to myself like ‘You can’t have a pint afterwards if you don’t finish it!’ You have to fight and tell yourself there’s a goal at the end. If you stop, it’s very hard to get going again, so try not to.

My best marathon speed was 3 hours 4 minutes. Because of my age and my running times, I got to run the London marathon for free, I also got sponsorship for a charity. Some people really stress over what time they get. With running, you get good days and bad days. Sometimes you get a great time, sometimes you don’t, but you shouldn’t worry or care about that, especially if you’re just starting. Diet can be helpful. I love chocolate, but I try and eat a balanced diet. I have porridge every morning and usually a banana which gives me a good amount of energy.

I would advise that it is best not to run if you really are unwell. It can be very difficult if you have flu and run, even for seasoned runners. However, running is great for your health, so do get back out there as soon as you can. Also, take your time with your run. A lot of people are tempted to sprint off at the beginning, but it will get tougher after 3 miles so do it at your own pace.

Most importantly, don’t give up running after the 10K. Why not train for a half marathon? Or you could sign up for the 10K again next year. Keep going. You don’t know where it might take you.”

Run, jog or walk alongside Anthony with Team #McrMetProud visit www.mmu.ac.uk/mcrmetrun

