Ex-Army business lecturer to tackle 100k challenge for military charity

Dr Jack Christian, who lecturers at Manchester Metropolitan University on ethics and sustainability, is to take on a mammoth 100k challenge for military charity.

He is to tackle the 100k Yorkshire, a sponsored two day trek through the Yorkshire Dales in aid of Blind Veterans UK, the national charity for vision-impaired ex-Service men and women.

The 63-year-old said a strange sequence of events led to him preparing for the ultra-challenge.

jack christian

“Initially I came across an advert for the event that ran in a local Sheffield paper, then I found myself talking to a friend who’s Served 20 years,” he said.

“Not long after that, by chance, I met and helped a blind person at the railway station while on my way to work.

“Well it was all too much of a coincidence for me, so I decided I just had to answer the advert and sign up!”

Dr Christian served in the Royal Signals in the 1970s and has a number of friends and family who are still in active duty, with many having toured action zones.

After leaving the Armed Forces, he trained as a teacher, which ultimately resulted in his employment at Manchester Metropolitan.

An avid walker, already maintains a healthy lifestyle and has a particular penchant for setting himself challenges.

He said: “The training is going really well, I’ve just competed in a 50k race so I’m confident that come June I’ll be in peak physical condition!”

Dr Christian, who plans on finishing the course in an incredible 18 hours, is no stranger to long distance tests, having last year competed in the Cape Wrath race, a daunting 249 mile trail walk from Fort William to Cape Wrath.

“Unfortunately, I wasn’t quick enough to do the full race, but I still managed to cover 198 miles in seven and a half days and managed to raise several hundred pounds for charity at the same time.

“I’m aware of the fantastic work that Blind Veterans UK does in supporting vision-impaired veterans regain confidence and achieve independence, so I’m looking forward to raising money for them as well.”

 

To support Dr Christian as he takes on the 100k for Blind Veterans UK, see  https://www.justgiving.com/fundraising/JackChristian.