Five Minutes With…Emma Harper & Becs Christofides

ma 5mw.jpg

Name, role and department:
Emma Harper, International Exchanges Intern.
Becs Christofides, International Marketing Intern.

How long have you been at Manchester Met:
We’ve both been here since 2012, firstly as students, and now working as interns, which has been a great opportunity to help us prepare for our future work and improve our employability.

Favourite thing about the University:
Emma: I like being in the city and Man Met is bang in the middle of Manchester! The University has so many opportunities and has something for everyone.
Becs: To be honest, the people. I’ve made some great friends through the Women’s Football Society, and everyone is really friendly up north (we’re both southerners). Also, the opportunities on offer are invaluable, especially the training that we get to go on through this internship.

A typical working day:
Emma: I usually come in and work on projects I’m doing at the time. The project I’m working on now is all about analysing exchange student feedback in order to make improvements. I also help out with student promo talks.
Becs: I manage social media, research potential marketing channels and generally think of ways to help promote Manchester Met to international students.

What is your ideal weekend:
Emma: I like to just eat and drink, and occasionally watch a Hugh Grant film. Also going dancing in the Northern Quarter with friends.
Becs: Chilling out at home, watching the weekend football, with Liverpool actually winning a game! Also, I’m a big film fan! Sometimes I might join Emma in the Northern Quarter, but no dancing for me…

Interesting fact about you:
Emma: I’m actually a Lady and own 5 sq ft of Cumbria.
Becs: I used to be Amy Winehouse’s neighbour, true story.

What are you reading, watching or listening to at the moment:
Emma: I’m reading ‘This is Performance Art’, just watched a documentary about cults and am listening to the new White Lies album, but waiting for Arcade Fire’s album to come out.
Becs: I’ve just finished a book called ‘The Opposite of Loneliness’ which I highly recommend. Currently watching Celeb Big Brother and my music taste varies from Motown to cheesy hits!

Favourite place in the region:
Emma: I really like Fletcher Moss Gardens in Didsbury and Fallowfield in the summer, especially Platt Fields Park. Oh and the pubs!
Becs: I love the Northern Quarter, it has lots of vinyl record shops which I always pop in to and add to my collection. Fallowfield will always be a fave!

Person you would most like to meet- past or present, real or fictional:
Emma: I’d like to meet Edina and Patsy from Ab Fab, because they’re an inspiration, or Florence!
Becs: I’d want to meet so many people! I guess I’d say Princess Diana.

What items would you take on a desert island and why:
Emma: My toolbox and an endless supply of Rubicon. Oh and sun cream just to be on the safe side.
Becs: Tom Hanks, he knows what to do.