Five Minutes With…Josh Edgar

photo1Name, role and department:
Josh Edgar, Student Living Administrator, Residential Services

How long have you been at Manchester Met:
3 months!

Favourite thing about the University:
My team, obviously, they’re all great. I also really enjoy working with students and helping them with any issues that they may be having. It’s a really varied and exciting position and no two days are the same.

 A typical working day:
Answering emails and phone calls from students (and their parents) making sure that their accommodation experience is a positive one! I liaise with the halls to keep them in the loop with any important information. I also run the daily gauntlet of trying to avoid “temptation corner” the area of the office, which was recently packed full of imported peanut butter m&m’s. The good stuff.

What is your ideal weekend:
A cottage in the countryside with my close friends, wine, cheese, music and lots of board games.

Interesting fact about you:
I was in a pop punk band in high school called “The Making Of.” We didn’t make it.

What are you reading, watching or listening to at the moment:
I am reading Ubik by Philip K. Dick. I am watching the final season of GIRLS and have just finished watching Westworld, both are brilliant. I am listening to a lot of things at the moment but I’m really enjoying the Gorillaz new tracks and love Carpenter Brut.

Favourite place in the region:
I can’t decide. It would either be The Bay Bookshop in Morecambe or Carnforth Bookshop. In Manchester, I would have to say Arcade Club in Bury or Band on the Wall.

Person you would most like to meet- past or present:
The master of special effects Tom Savini. I love practical effects in film and would love to talk to him about that. In close second place I’d have to say the special effect director of the original Godzilla movies Akira Watanabe. He stuck a man in a rubber suit and turned him into the King of Monsters.

What items would you take on a desert island and why:
A library, sun cream and a means of escape.