Five Minutes With…Dr Jenny Fisher

jennyName, role and department:
Dr Jenny Fisher, Senior Lecturer, Department of Social Care and Social Work

How long have you been at Manchester Met:
Since April 2007

Favourite thing about the University:
The people I work with including those I have met recently on the Future RKE Leaders programme.

A typical working day:
I don’t really have a typical day. One of the best days recently was when two colleagues from the Physiotherapy team and I went on a road-trip to Cheshire to visit two Men’s Sheds run by Age UK Cheshire. Men’s Sheds are community spaces where men come together to work on individual or community projects. At the Sheds they meet and spend time with others. http://menssheds.org.uk/what-is-a-mens-shed/

We had a lovely day chatting with the men who attend the Sheds in preparation for our successful tender to evaluate the impact of this work.

What is your ideal weekend:
Reading in my garden office, known to my friends as my “shoffice” (Shed-office). Cooking while listening to Radio 6, reading and watching online series including Transparent, Nashville and Parks and Recreation. The best weekend is when my oldest daughter comes back from Sheffield and we all go into Manchester for something to eat.

Interesting fact about you:
I lived in Malaysia for 3 years when I was younger.

What are you reading, watching or listening to at the moment:
I am watching Catastrophe and House of Cards, and reading The Heart’s Invisible Furies by John Boyne.

Favourite place in the region:
Lyme Park and the Old Hall pub in Chinley

Person you would most like to meet- past or present:
Gina McKee – I loved watching Our Friends in the North. I would say Christopher Eccleston but I’ve already met him recently in a pub in Salford.

What items would you take on a desert island and why:
Fiction books – reading is my way to well-being.
Photo albums as I like looking at old photos.
A large hat and sun cream as I don’t like being in the sun.