People News: London marathon success & Charity bike rides

London marathon success

CardiffCrossHJ.pngDr Hannah Jarvis, Research Associate in the Department of Exercise and Sport Science at the Cheshire campus competed in the London Marathon at the weekend finishing an impressive 21st place in her age category (18-39 years) and 22nd out of all female runners.

Dr Jarvis’ time of 02:52:00 places her in the 1% of female runners and in the top 3% of all 39,365 people who ran in the London Marathon on Sunday 23rd April.

Reflecting on her experience, Hannah said, “It was a personal best at the marathon, but my first time racing in London. I would have liked to have run faster, but I think all runners want to run faster. I’m used to running up and down hills [fell running] so running on the roads has been different, but a great experience.”

Wheelie good effort

On Tuesday, Pete Murray, a Lecturer in Multimedia Journalism, took part in a all-day static bike ride to raise money for Parkinson’s UK in the Geoffrey Manton Building.

The ride has raised nearly £575 for Parkinson’s UK.

Pete said: ” The last hour was tough, I must admit, but it was worth it. I’m absolutely overwhelmed by the generosity of students and staff, who dug deep to contribute to this outstanding total. My enormous thanks to everyone who helped out on the day – particularly to staff at the Atrium Café. Their smiles and encouragement throughout the day really kept me going!

“The 6-hour ride was part of a £60,000 fundraising campaign led by my brother-in-law Marc Van Grieken, who was diagnosed with Parkinson’s around 10 years ago.”

Parkinson's cycle 1.JPG

Liz Hannaford was one of several colleagues who buddied up with Pete in half-hour stints during the six hours  spent in the saddle.