Two lecturers become fellows of professional membership bodies

Dr Karl McLaughlin, a Senior Lecturer in Spanish in the Department of Languages, Information and Communications, has been appointed as a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Linguists (CIOL).

Fellowship is the highest of the grades of membership of the Institute, which is one of the world’s leading professional associations for language practitioners.

Dr Viji Velusamy, a Senior Lecturer in Electronic Engineering, has become the Higher Education Academy’s 90,000th Fellow.

The announcement was made at the HEA Annual Conference 2017 in Manchester last week which was attended by over 800 delegates, the vast majority of whom are HEA Fellows.

Dr Velusamy, who joined Manchester Met three years ago, said, “I was so surprised and pleased to hear I was the 90,000th HEA Fellow, I had to double check it was actually me!

“My route to Fellowship has been of a journey of discovery. I had fantastic support from the University’s Centre for Excellence in Learning and Teaching and also from my peers at the School of Engineering who has already achieved their fellowship.”

Dr Velusamy continued, “It’s interesting that self-reflection has already changed my teaching practice and applying the Professional Standards Frame, which is core to Fellowship, really helps to maintain a dynamic approach to teaching.  I’m very proud of my Fellowship.”