Five Minutes With… Scot Hornby

Scot Hornby

Scot won the Pride poster competition run by the Students’ Union and judged by the LGBT Society’s committee. See the poster below.

Name, role and department:

Scot Hornby, MA Textile Practice and a course rep support staff member

How long have you been at Manchester Met:

Since September, I’m in my first year

Favourite thing about the University:

It’s hard to narrow down – probably the people, the network within the School of Art. The people you get to meet is the best thing about Man Met, and I like that there’s no huge pressure to be involved – you are given the space you need if you need to work alone sometimes

A typical working day:

There isn’t really one. Its more my working week, each day I’ll dedicate to one area: uni, part-time job, always a Thursday in the studio at the School of Art and squeeze in one more day for studio/masters work and have one day free for myself or to spend with my partner

What is your ideal weekend:

Obviously my Pride weekend! It starts on the Thursday night when I’ll be doing a Ru Paul Drag Race quiz night, to ease in. Friday see some acts and have a quiet evening with a meal. Saturday’s the big day – get up early to get a good spot or join the march. This year the float will feature my art work. Saturday night I’ll go wild. Sunday is brunch and see a few acts in the afternoon, have a Sunday roast and prepare for Monday – the best day. Go and see the Legend slot at the main Arena, that’s my perfect Pride!
My ideal weekend is a date night on a Friday, a nice meal – not too late – with a cocktail with an early night and movie. Saturday, get up go for a day out, do an exhibition, lunch, maybe couple more cocktails and always on Saturday at 4pm it’s nap time. When I wake up, dinner before a night out, go wild on Canal Street. Sunday is a long lie in and a Sunday roast

Interesting fact about you:

I have Beyoncé’s towel, with her make up on…which sounds gross but it’s amazing. I got it at her concert, she threw it to me

What are you reading, watching or listening to at the moment:

Well, it’s just been the big anniversary of Harry Potter so I’ve been working back through them on audiobook by Stephen Fry. I’ve also just started reading On the Map by Simon Garfield

Favourite place in the region:

It’s Liverpool! My home. Where I was born and bred. I love how quickly the city has changed, it’s completely different to where I grew up. It used to be quite desolate in places but it’s now an epicentre or activity

Person you would most like to meet- past or present, real or fictional:

Leigh Bowry, he’s one of my favourite artists who sadly died of AIDS. He’s an amazing visual performance artist, one of the club kids in the ’80s and a bizarre, inspiring creature of the night! There’s so many things I’d love to ask him about his life, he did art in all different forms. He’s had an amazing life!

What items would you take on a desert island and why:

No point taking your phone, you can’t charge it. So I’d take my pressed flower from my boyfriend, a massive bowl of mashed potato and a puppy to keep me company!

UNION PRIDE POSTER A2 (1)