Five Minutes With… Dave O’Hara

Dave O'Hara

Name, role and department:

Dave O’Hara, Executive Assistant, Manchester School of Art

How long have you been at Manchester Met:

One year and six months

Favourite thing about the University:

I love the buzz around The Art School degree show, a good Grosvenor Kitchen cheese board and being able to access the library for free!

A typical working day:

A smorgasbord of complex diary management, project support, travel booking, problem solving and administration – no day is ever the same! I work as part of a really strong team, we share best practice and approach every task with a smile.

What is your ideal weekend:

A full-English at Trof with a trio of drinks (latte, OJ and a Bloody Mary if it’s needed). I love a festival, ideally a free one, so I’d start by heading in the general direction of street food. Then onto a schooner of something opaque at The Cloudwater Brewery, under the arches on Piccadilly Trading Estate. I’d hope to meet some cool dogs along the way, then would end the day by heading home for a cheese board and something from Vipco’s Vault of Horror.

Interesting fact about you:

The Beeb once trusted me with my own show! I sat in for Stuart Barrett and also presented The Takeover on BBC Radio Manchester. It all went very Alan Partridge when I asked the question, “Is Madonna dead?” They didn’t have me back.

What are you reading, watching or listening to at the moment:

I’m a huge David Lynch fan, so I’m immersed in Twin Peaks: The Return just now. True to her word, the long dead Laura Palmer promised that she would see us again in 25 years. Now she’s back, along with Special Agent Dale Cooper, Hawk and The Log Lady for some uncomfortably long silences and cherry pie. Sky Atlantic are running the show in simulcast with Showtime in America, so my Monday evening routine has been coffee, pie and the latest episode straight after work, before my other half comes home and asks, “What on earth are you watching?”

Favourite place in the region:

The deck chairs outside of the Dockyard down at Media City, however be warned as it is a no-swear zone. You can swear, just do it quietly.

Person you would most like to meet- past or present, real or fictional:

Koko the talking Gorilla – I really mean that!

What items would you take on a desert island and why: