Five Minutes With…Chloe Wilcox

MA Five mins Chloe+Wilcox+Team+GB+Water+Polo+Athletes+Announced+D9kSgHFFrkllName, role and department:
Chloe Wilcox, Performance Sport Assistant and Waterpolo Coach for men and women. MMU Sport.

How long have you been at Manchester Met:
Just two months!

Favourite thing about the University:
I think the amount of different free activities on offer for staff is brilliant. There’s also a great support system in place for Olympian athletes which was what initially attracted me to the role.
The people are all really welcoming – I feel like I’ve been part of the team for years!

A typical working day:
I’m not sure I’ve experienced a ‘typical’ working day yet due to the students only just starting (I’m sure that’s about to change.)
As I’m involved with actively recruiting performance sport athletes to the University, I can be busy making contact with potential athletes, even going to watch them compete. The focus of my role here will be to facilitate the performance sport athletes, supporting their lifestyle as a dual-career athlete and aiding them to reach their potential both academically and athletically.
You’ll also find me at the Aquatics Centre coaching the men’s and women’s team a couple of times a week!

What is your ideal weekend:
I love an active weekend. Ideally, I would go surfing – having just relocated from Australia, where I spent most of my time in the sea – but this seems to be a lot more difficult to organise in the UK! I love the Lake District and will always be up for a long walk, come rain or shine.

Interesting fact about you:
I competed for Great Britain at the London 2012 Olympic Games in waterpolo. It was by far the greatest experience of my life.

What are you reading, watching or listening to at the moment:
Reading – The talent lab.
Listening – Chet Faker.
Watching – Game of thrones. (Who isn’t?)

Favourite place in the region:
The Lake District, of course.

Person you would most like to meet- past or present:
Kelly Slater.

What items would you take on a desert island and why:
A friend – to keep me company!