Five Minutes With…Samir Karnik Hinks

samir

Name, role and department:

Hello! My name is Samir Karnik Hinks and I work part time as the Data Officer for the Graduate School & Student Case Management.

 How long have you been at Manchester Met:

Just over a year.

 Favourite thing about the University:

My friendly colleagues, staff access to the library and the proximity of All Saints Park for a quiet lunch.

A typical working day:

Starts with a commute from Liverpool but that’s plenty of reading time (I’m also doing a part time MA in Disability Studies). Once I’m in the main order of any day is chasing data, checking, testing, analysing and modelling. With my Student Case Management hat on I’m usually looking at Academic Appeals, Complaints and Exceptional Factors Claims: the who, when, whys. For the Graduate School it’s population and enrolment data but also qualitative analysis on student feedback.

What is your ideal weekend:

It would start with a Corbyn led government sweeping to power, enacting a radical programme of wealth redistribution and social justice. Celebratory fun with my partner and friends including lots of communal cooking, drinking and dancing. Sunday would be devoted to skateboarding (started 10 years ago, haven’t been able to stop), a quiet read, and if Liverpool could keep a clean sheet I’d have an early night as a happy man.

 Interesting fact about you:

My Granddad is Indian which is where my name comes from!

What are you reading, watching or listening to at the moment:

All things Disability Studies related – and will be for the next 2 years.

Favourite place in the region:

Room 2.01, Business School, Manchester, M15 6BH

Person you would most like to meet- past or present, real or fictional:

C. L. R. James, author of one of my favourite books, an activist historian with a great sense of humour… or Beyoncé.

What items would you take on a desert island and why:

The home-brewing kit one of my sisters bought me for a birthday a few years ago; it has moved house five times without me using it 😦 Hopefully by the time I’m found I’d be a master brewer!